Warning: Memcache::get() [memcache.get]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 75

Warning: Memcache::get() [memcache.get]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 71

Warning: Memcache::add() [memcache.add]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 65
CheapOair.com Complaint - Evil Doers - Airline Fare
CheapOair.com Complaint

CheapOair.com Complaint


Evil Doers - Airline Fare

1st CheapOair told me a flight price will be $168 more than their advertised price of $337; a lame excuse was given for the price hike, but I agreed & gave credit card information..., because I fell for the line that "only one seat was available & that I wouldn't find a cheaper rate elsewhere."

To satisfy my curiousity, I then called the airline directly and was told several seats were available on the identical flight and the price would be $78 less than CheapOair's price.
I then called CheapO... to give the update; they explained that "prices change by the minute", and I could now have it for $45 less than their last quote, "because of the timing of my call." I agreed to the discount.

But curiosity motivated me to call the airline directly again, and lo and behold, I found out "prices" don't "change by the minute"; their price remained the same & still cheaper than CheapO...

I then called CheapO... and said "match the price I was quoted by the airline or I want to cancel the flight." They said they can't match the price, and there will be a $24 service fee if I cancel. I said "OK let's cancel", since $24 + the airline direct price was still cheaper than CheapO...

CheapO... then said "what if another $7 is taken off the price", which would be the break even point to me going with the airline directly combined with paying the $24 cancelation charge paid to CheapO...

I wanted to get this over with, so I agreed to not cancel on that call, since I figured I'm losing $24 either way.

After we hung up, I was thinking how little trust I had in CheapO..., so I checked them out in the Better Business Bureau website, & what I read about them scared the bleep out of me.

I then called CheapO... and said I want to cancel the flight, & when they asked why, I felt great pleasure in saying "because I never want to do business with you guys..."

Then they said the "service" fee for canceling would be $50. As irritated as I was with Cheapo..., I actually laughed thinking about all their price changes, & said "I was told the fee would be $24, why is it now $50?" I was put on hold & then told "OK, $24 is correct."

Oh, and I was told the refund will take 7 to 10 business days by one rep, 20 to 25 business days by another rep, and the last I heard is that it may take up to 12 weeks!

So, they are charging my credit card the full price of $500+ and will "refund" all but $24 of it some day.

All the above happened within a few hours, and I immediately called the credit card company to dispute the charge... Fortunately, the credit card company said the worst that will happen is that I'll lose the $24.

I'm lucky to only be potentially losing $24; it could have been a lot worse in dealing with CheapOair.com . I learned my lesson...

Check the Better Business Bureau website before deciding whether to deal with a company name that begins with "CheapO".

Share This Review:


Is this your Business? Claim Your Business Free and reply to this customer


Post a reply for this review COMMENT
WRITE to CheapOair.com
SUBMIT a ticket
for CheapOair.com
WATCH videos
for CheapOair.com
More CheapOair.com Reviews and Complaints MORE reviews and complaints
for CheapOair.com


Company was claimed GREAT NEWS, this company has Partnered with MeasuredUp and uses it to answer you!
Link to MeasuredUp BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Excellence Badge
Take the pledge BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Pledge Badge
Upgrade Account BUSINESSES: Build your customer service online reputation



randrews says: (8 years ago)
This customer has never contacted me for any further assistance.


randrews says: (9 years ago)
Dear warsurvivor, I am terribly sorry for the inconvenience. Airfare does change constantly and there could of been a lower fare. However, you don't mention that the price was cheaper with the airline for the exact flights, times, dates etc. So I am unable to comment or defend our company regarding the price discrepancy. I am glad that you did receive a refund, and if you contact me, I will be glad to see what can be done regarding the service fee.


login with Facebook and share your reviews

More CheapOair.com reviews

Similar reviews


Bookmark/Share this page

This page is under construction.
It will be up and running soon with new features to make you smile more.
The MeasuredUp Team